Sheng Siong published a new CHAS poster on its own corporate promotions page on 10 September 2026, raising the discount for CHAS Blue and Orange cardholders from 4% to 6%. The poster is headlined *A Little More Support, Just For You*, and it prints its own window: 10 September 2026 to 1 January 2027.
> Quick view: 6% off for CHAS Blue cardholders every Thursday and CHAS Orange cardholders every Friday, 10 Sep 2026 to 1 Jan 2027, at Sheng Siong supermarkets islandwide. Capped at a maximum spending of $200 per receipt per day, so $12 is the most any one day returns. Singapore Citizens only. Show your physical or digital CHAS card at checkout. Today, Thursday 10 September, is day one and it is a Blue day.
The day is the rule
The poster splits the two card colours across two different days and offers no choice between them.
| Card | Your day | Rate | Window |
|---|---|---|---|
| CHAS Blue | Every Thursday | 6% (was 4%) | 10 Sep to 31 Dec 2026 |
| CHAS Orange | Every Friday | 6% (was 4%) | 11 Sep 2026 to 1 Jan 2027 |
Arrive on the other colour's day and there is nothing to apply, not even the old 4%. Today, Thursday 10 September, is the first qualifying day of the whole run and it belongs to Blue. Orange starts tomorrow, Friday 11 September.
Counted out, that is 17 Thursdays for Blue, the last of them Thursday 31 December 2026, and 17 Fridays for Orange, the last of them Friday 1 January 2027, New Year's Day itself. A household holding one card of each colour effectively gets two discounted shopping days a week, but each card is capped on its own.
The cap, and what it does to a big trolley
The poster's fourth term reads: *the discount is applicable to a maximum spending of $200 per receipt per day*.
Six per cent of $200 is $12, and that is the ceiling.
| Your shop on a discount day | What 6% returns | Effective rate |
|---|---|---|
| $80 | $4.80 | 6% |
| $150 | $9.00 | 6% |
| $200 | $12.00 | 6% |
| $300 | $12.00 | 4% |
| $400 | $12.00 | 3% |
The practical read is that two $200 shops on two discount days are worth $24, while one $400 shop is worth $12. Across the full run the ceiling is roughly $204 per cardholder, and a household spending about $120 a visit gains $7.20 a time.
What the 6% does not cover
The poster lists the exclusions in its own footer:
- Infant Formula Milk Powder, Stage 1 and Stage 2
- Tobacco products
- Alcohol
- The disposable carrier bag charge
- Phone cards
- Sheng Siong vouchers
- The BCRS 10-cent deposit per can or bottle
That last one is worth understanding rather than skimming. Under the Beverage Container Return Scheme, the 10 cents on each can or bottle is a refundable deposit rather than a price, so it was never really yours to discount. You get it back when you return the container. A carton of drinks quoted at $10.95 on the shelf is $13.35 at the till, and the 6% is calculated on the $10.95.
Two other terms sit alongside them: the discount is applicable to Singapore Citizens only, and Sheng Siong reserves the right to alter the terms without prior notice.
The flyer in your hand still says 4%
This is the part worth checking before you queue. Sheng Siong's two-week store advertisement now in circulation runs 4 to 17 September 2026 and was uploaded to the corporate site on 3 September, a week before the new poster. Its footer still reads 4% CHAS Special Discount, every Thursday for Blue and every Friday for Orange, *valid till 31/12/2026*.
So for the next week, two of Sheng Siong's own documents disagree, and the newer one is the 6% poster dated 10 September. The safe move is to read the discount line on your receipt before you leave the counter. If it shows 4% on a Thursday with a Blue card, ask the cashier to check the current CHAS promotion.
The senior discount did not move
Easy to miss in the noise: the 4% senior citizen discount stayed at 4%. Sheng Siong's own banner puts it at 4% for the calendar year 1 January to 31 December 2026, and the store advertisement footer sets the terms: every Tuesday and Wednesday for Singaporeans and PRs aged 60 and above.
That changes where the big shop belongs.
| Discount | Days | Rate | Who | Valid till |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Senior citizen | Tuesday, Wednesday | 4% | Singaporeans and PRs, 60+ | 31 Dec 2026 |
| CHAS Blue | Thursday | 6% | Singapore Citizens | 31 Dec 2026 |
| CHAS Orange | Friday | 6% | Singapore Citizens | 1 Jan 2027 |
On a $200 trolley that is $12 on a CHAS day against $8 on a senior day. If you hold both, move the weekly shop to Thursday or Friday and keep Tuesday or Wednesday for top-ups. Note the eligibility gap too: the senior discount is printed for Singaporeans and PRs, while the CHAS 6% is citizens only.
Sheng Siong versus FairPrice, and the $24 Thursday
FairPrice Group doubled its own CHAS discount from 3% to 6% a week earlier, on 3 September 2026, and the two campaigns have landed on identical days.
| Sheng Siong | FairPrice Group | |
|---|---|---|
| Old rate | 4% | 3% |
| New rate | 6% | 6% |
| Started | 10 Sep 2026 | 3 Sep 2026 |
| Ends | 1 Jan 2027 | 1 Jan 2027 |
| Blue | Thursday | Thursday |
| Orange | Friday | Friday |
| Cap | $200 per receipt per day | $200 per customer per day |
| Stacks with CDC vouchers | Not stated | Stated in the release |
| Eligibility | Singapore Citizens only | Not specified in the release |
Because these are two separate promotions from two competing chains, the caps are separate too. A Blue cardholder who spends $200 at FairPrice and $200 at Sheng Siong on the same Thursday takes $24 back in one day, not $12. If your household holds one Blue card and one Orange card, that logic runs across four supermarket visits a week, though whether that is worth the trips is your own call.
One wording difference deserves care rather than enthusiasm. FairPrice caps at $200 per customer per day; Sheng Siong's poster says $200 per receipt per day. Splitting a single shop into two Sheng Siong receipts to claim $24 at one store is not something the poster promises, so treat $12 as the realistic daily ceiling at Sheng Siong and ask at the counter if you intend to test it.
How to get it applied
Show your physical or digital CHAS card at checkout, before payment. There is no app registration step and no code. CHAS card tiers are set by the Ministry of Health, not by the supermarket, so if you are unsure whether your card is Blue, Orange or Green, check at chas.gov.sg before counting on the rate. CHAS Green cardholders are not included in either chain's offer.
The card rebates printed in the same store advertisement footer are separate again: 6% on the BOC Sheng Siong Card, 5% on the POSB Everyday Card and 5% on the Citi SMRT Platinum Visa Card, with a note that terms may vary by bank.
*Photo: Sheng Siong official campaign artwork. Discount rate, dates, day split, $200 cap, exclusions and the Singapore Citizens clause read from Sheng Siong's own CHAS poster on corporate.shengsiong.com.sg, published 10 September 2026. Senior citizen terms and the 4% CHAS footer read from Sheng Siong's own 4 to 17 September 2026 store advertisement, uploaded 3 September 2026. Terms may change without notice; confirm at the store.*
Related
- FairPrice Doubles CHAS Discounts to 6% From 3 September
- Cheapest Supermarket in Singapore 2026: Sheng Siong vs FairPrice vs Giant vs Cold Storage
- Where to Use Your $500 CDC Vouchers in 2026 for the Best Value
- Cost-of-Living Special Payment 2026: $400 to $600 From 9 September
- Best Singapore Promos & Deals This Month



